Annex I parties

The industrialised countries listed in Annex I to the UNFCCC which committed themselves to returning their greenhouse gas emissions to the 1990 level by the year 2000 in accordance with Article 4.2 (a) and (b). These countries have also accepted emission targets for the 2008-2012 period in accordance with Article 3 and Annex B of the Kyoto Protocol. The countries include the 24 original OECD members, the European Union and 14 countries with economies in transition.

Validity of the definition

  • 1 January 1900 - 20 October 2021

Source organisation

  • Tilastokeskus