Producers of statistics

The National Statistical Service comprises 13 agencies and institutions, 10 of which produce Official Statistics of Finland. The Statistics Act divides the producers of statistics into three groups, namely statistical authorities, other authorities producing statistics and other producers of statistics.

Statistical authorities

The Statistics Act defines four statistical authorities (Natural Resources Institute Finland, National Institute for Health and Welfare (THL), Statistics Finland and Finnish Customs) that have the right to collect data for statistical purposes by virtue of the data supply obligation prescribed in law.

Other authorities producing statistics

Other producers of statistics

The Bank of Finland is a statistical authority as part of the European System of Central Banks but does not hold the position of a statistical authority in Finland's National Statistical Service.



Last updated 9.1.2015

Home > Statistics Finland > The National Statistical Service > Producers of statistics

Statistics Finland

The National Statistical Service

Related topics
Suomeksi På svenska Print version
Index| Site map| Feedback| Contact information
Etusivu| Förstasidan
Home Statistics Metadata Data collections Products and services News Statistics Finland
Statistics Finland PalloTelephone +358 29 551 1000 PalloContact information PalloCopyrights and Terms of Use Pallo Feedback